Contact Us   |   Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
CHPA Candidate Handbook




The Certified Healthcare Protection Administrator (CHPA) certification is available to management level and above healthcare security professionals who meet the qualifying criteria.


Eligibility Requirements & Application

Complete the CHPA application outlining the ten required credits accumulated from the four categories of: Education, Experience, Membership and Specialized Training. 


Application Fee

The fee is non-refundable & includes the cost of the CHPA exam. 

  • Members: $450 USD
  • Non-members: $525 USD

Exam Details

The CHPA examination is administered at the IAHSS Annual Conference & Exhibition or online with a proctor. All testing must be prearranged.


CHPA exam v.19 consists of 200 scored and 20 unscored items. IAHSS allows 3 hours (180 minutes) total testing time for the exam. The minimum passing score is 75%. Candidates will receive results of either Pass or Fail upon completion, and will receive follow up written communication from IAHSS. Failing candidates will be provided additional information about their performance by Content Area in order to focus their area(s) of study for retest. 



CHPA Certification Policies are reviewed and updated by the Commission on Certification periodically or as needed. 



Preparing to take the CHPA exam





A CHPA must renew every three years by completing a CHPA recertification application documenting fifteen credits earned during the recertification period. 


Recertification Fee

  • Member: $150 USD
  • Non-member $175 USD


Distinguished CHPA 


The status of Distinguished CHPA is granted to healthcare security professionals who have maintained an active CHPA certification consistently for 18 or more years. 



The Commission on Certification discontinued the CHPA-L program in 2016. Learn more here.



The CHPA Fellow Program (CHPA-F) was discontinued in 2010. Learn more here.

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal