Contact Us   |   Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Recent press releases

IAHSS Foundation Awards

Friday, July 12, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Matt Zach
Share |

IAHSS Foundation Recognizes Exceptional Achievements in Healthcare Security

Chicago, IL – The International Association for Healthcare Security and Safety Foundation held their Annual Recognition Banquet at the 2019 IAHSS 51st Annual Conference & Exhibition in Orlando, Florida in May. Awards were presented to outstanding healthcare security professionals and organizations for their exemplary contributions to the healthcare security industry.

Bonnie Michelman, IAHSS Foundation President, and Executive Director of Police, Security and Outside Services at Massachusetts General Hospital, was the host and master of ceremonies presenting the following awards:


The Medal of Merit is presented to individuals who distinguish himself/herself in the performance of duty by an act of personal fortitude above and beyond the call of duty not taken at the risk of his/her own life.  The 2019 Medals of Merit were presented to:

1. Officer Miguel “Mike” Zendejas – Martin Luther King Jr., Los Angeles, California

2. Officer Brianne Fung- Paladin Security Group, Richmond General Hospital, Richmond, British Columbia, Canada

3. Officer David Ellis- Paladin Security Group, Richmond General Hospital, Richmond, British Columbia, Canada


The Russell L. Colling Medal for Literary Achievement is presented to an individual who through his or her literary abilities, has made a significant contribution to the healthcare security, safety, and/or risk management professions.  The 2019 Russell L. Colling Literary Achievement Medal was presented to Raymond Gerwitz, CHPA, MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, Texas.


The Philip A. Gaffney Faculty Chair is presented to an individual, institution or firm best exemplifying advancement of the purpose and aims of the IAHSS Foundation through demonstrated achievement in the profession and disciplines of healthcare security, safety and/or risk management. The 2019 Philip A. Gaffney Chair was presented to Eric Sean Clay, CHPA, CPP, CoxHealth, Springfield, Missouri.


The Lindberg Bell Outstanding Facility is named in memory of Lindberg Bell, a charter member and second President of the International Association for Healthcare Security and Safety (IAHSS).  This recognition is presented to a facility which has established and administers an outstanding healthcare security and/or safety program and in 2019 was presented to AdventHealth in Orlando, Florida.


In addition, the 2019 IAHSS Immediate Past-President, Kevin Tuohey, presented the association’s annual Elwood G. Near President’s Award to Edwin Stedman.

The IAHSS Foundation and the IAHSS are proud to honor the exceptional efforts of these individuals and organizations who have exemplified the highest standards in the healthcare security profession.

Photos available below and upon request.


The IAHSS Foundation was founded in 1981 as the philanthropic arm of IAHSS. The IAHSS Foundation was established to foster and promote the welfare of the public through educational and scientific research and development of healthcare security and safety body of knowledge.  It promotes and develops educational research into the maintenance and improvement of healthcare security and safety management as well as develops and conducts educational programs for the public. For more information, visit


 The International Association for Healthcare Security and Safety (IAHSS) is the only organization solely dedicated to professionals involved in managing and directing security and safety programs in healthcare facilities. IAHSS is a professional association with more than 2,000 members who are healthcare security, law enforcement, safety and emergency management leaders.  For fifty years, IAHSS has educated and served members and the profession by offering exclusive resources and benefits including industry and design guidelines, local and international educational and networking opportunities, and the celebrated bi-annual Journal of Healthcare Protection Management.  IAHSS has certified tens of thousands of dedicated professionals who keep healthcare facilities, patients, staff and visitors safe. IAHSS offers the Basic, Advanced and Supervisor certifications, a Safety Certificate Program, and maintains the prestigious Certified Healthcare Protection Administrator (CHPA) certification, the standard for the healthcare security leader dedicated to the profession. For more information, visit










Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal